*PART – 1*

*Navratri Day 1 :- Maa Shailaputri .*

In the first form of shakti, Maa Bhawani is known as ” Shailputri ” . which means daughter of Mountain. She is the daughter of Hemavana, the King of Himalayas. Shailpuri is considered as the purest embodiment of Durga.
In the Divine form, Maa Durga is seated on Nandi-bull. She is looking very beautiful with holding the trident in the right hand and the lotus in the left hand.

*”वन्दे वान्यचितला भयं , चन्द्र अर्धाकृत अशेखराम ।*
*वृषारुधाम शुलाध्रम , शैलपुत्री यशस्विनीमः ।।”*


*Navratri Day 2: Maa Brahmacharini .*

Here Brahma means “one who constantly meditates on the Supreme Being”. Brahmacharini is highly pious and is a peaceful form or its in meditation.
This form of Durga is related to the severe penance undertaken by Sati and Parvati to attain Lord Shiva as the husband.


*Navratri Day 3: Maa Chandraghanta*

Chandraghanta is the Third form of Durga. She represents peace, Beauty, Bravery, tranquility, and prosperity in life.
Chandraghanta is derived from two words, Chandra ( half moon ) which is her forehead in the shape of the ghanta (Bell).
After getting married to Lord Shiva goddess Parvati adorned her forehead with half-Chandra, hence she is known as Maa Chandraghanta.


*Navratri Day 4: Maa Kushmanda.*

The fourth day is dedicated to the goddess Kushmanda, the creator of the entire Universe.
The name Khushmanda consists of three words “Ku” means “a little” “Usma” means “energy ” and “Anda” means “the cosmic egg or Universe”.
Goddess Shakti is very happy in this incarnation and it is believed that the eternal darkness ended when she smiled and this led to the beginning of creation.
She has eight hands in which she holds kamandal, bow, arrow, a jar of Amrit, discus mace and a lotus, and in one hand she holds a rosary which blessed her devotes with all Riddhis and Siddhis. Therefore she is also known as asthabhuja. One can recite this mantra to get divine blessings of Maa khusmanda.

*”सुरसम पूर्ण कलशम , रुधी प्लुप्तमेव च: ।*
*दधानाः हस्त पद्माभया , कूष्माण्डा शुभ दस्तू में ।।”*

( # Note: Description of other avatars of Maa Bhagwati will be given in Next part of ” NAV – RATRI )

Click here to read the next part: http://write2all.com/nav-ratri-2/


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.